Posted by: missions4lifenow | December 27, 2010

After Christmas Thoughts


It is now the week after Christmas and all is well.  The gifts have been given, the parties have all been attended, the plays and musicals have all been attended now it is time to go back to life as we knew it. 

What have we learned this Christmas season?  I know that I have learned quite a lot this yhear.  This was a Christmas of firsts.  This was the first Christmas without my dad.  That was hard.  This was the first Christmas in quite a long time that there was snow for Christmas.  This was the first time that I was chosen to sit in my father’s chair at the table.  I was informed that I was now the head of the family. 

I know in my heart that these things have meant a lot to me and that I shall never forget them as long as I live on this earth.  God gave us his son Jesus to come and be born in a manger many years ago.  I shall never forget this event even though I was not there physically.  I was there in God’s mind, because he knew that one day I would ask his son into my heart and become one of his own.

Christmas has always been a time of giving to others less fortunate.  This giving should not stop here.  We should continue giving things to others all year long.  I learned a lesson a long time ago.  There is always someone in this world less fortunate that we are.  The Bible tells us that when we have done it unto one of the least of these, we have done it unto him.  This tells me that we are to be about his work at all times and when we are God will bless us beyond measure.

I know that when the new classes begin and I get into the swing of teaching again, my life will be forever changed because of this Christmas.   I will have a new respect for the word grieving.  I teach this in my classes, but up until now I have never really grieved for someone I lost.  I can now speak with real authority about this subject. 

My faith in God has brought me through this process and will continue to do so.  God is the healer of all wounds in our souls.  I look to him for this each and every day.  I know that through him I can continue my work and be what he wants me to be to these students. 

Without the assurance of where my father is right now I could never have gotten this far.  I know that my father is in heaven and that he is in no pain and is probably running all over heaven meeting and catching up on everything that has happened in the lives of his friends and family that have gone on before him.  This is what helps me get through this.  I can’t say that I don’t miss my father because I miss him terribly, but my knowing where he is and that someday I will be reunited with him makes my life easier to live and I know that I wll be stronger for this.  God has a plan for me that I must do with all that I have within me and that when it is time I will go to be with my father in heaven.   As I pray each day I ask God to tell my daddy that I love him and that I will see him one day soon. 

God has been gracious to me and now it is time for me to put away these thoughts and continue with my life.  God gives me direction and I need to do his work.  I feel in my heart that this work is sharing the most wonderful gift that has ever been given with each and every person that I come in contact with.  This gift is Jesus Christ.

May God Bless you this year and keep you ever close to him.

Responses

  1. I am sorry for your loss. This was the second Christmas since my dad died. He was not a Christian. Yet, he still was my dad. We lost my husband’s sister this past June. We miss her but we know she is in heaven. Each year God gives us gifts. Your’s is special to you and your need. God taught me to be kinder to those who are living in less than ideal circumstances.

    • Thanks so much for your comments. We need to continue in our journey to accomplish all we can for the kingdom and there will come a day when we will see our loved ones and share with them again. God Bless You Richly in 2011. Dian


Leave a Reply

Categories

